The spirits of things…

December 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

‘Toys and God have a lot in common’ – Grayson Perry

I made these few weeks ago but never blogged about them as I’m still not sure where it’s going. I started thinking about the personal value of objects visiting the Charmed Life exhibition at the Wellcome collection. I like the notion of objects offering comfort to the owner and acting as a silent witness to their experiences and their history. Toys do this very well, for example a child clutches onto a toy to ward off bad dreams and mysterious shadows in a room.

I made the sketches above thinking about personifying these qualities. I thought about Worry dolls and figures from the Horniman Museum and ended up making up my own miniature characters of comfort using some recycled paper pieces from older projects… It’s just a starting point of an idea which I want to look into when university work dies down a bit…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The spirits of things… at Ellen Li.

meta

